Beliefs

Beliefs- Those things you hold as true that requires no proof for you to believe in. a.k.a Faith. 

     I thought it might be a good idea to know what my beliefs are, what I have faith in, before I tried getting my life in order.  I believe there is a guiding force in life, a force that is in all things and flows throughout the universe.  I do not need to prove it, whenever I ask someone to prove their God to me they say “Faith”, well then I have faith in there being a guiding force in life.  I believe and have faith in Karma.  All through life instances of people getting what they deserve happens, is it always fair?  No, for as much as Karma plays a role in life so does luck, good bad or otherwise, luck exists.  I trust in the power of thought and the law of attraction (like attracts like.)  Three things I believe in and place an emphasis on in my life are: family, love and learning.  These would be the core of my beliefs, let’s see how I can use these core beliefs to help improve my life.

     The guiding force in life should not be confused with intelligent design; they are not even closely related.   The guiding force in life is that wee little bit of control that keeps chaos within certain boundaries.  What can be gained from this knowledge is that when things seem to be spiraling out of control, to slow down and remember that in the end things will be fine.  We all sometimes get caught up in our circumstances and feel we are being swept away and hope is gone and all control of our life seems lost.  We frantically paddle against the current and get pulled deeper down and further away from where we would desire to be.  Let go of the struggle, go with the flow and remember this too shall pass.  Occasionally you just have let the guiding force guide and you will be lead from troubled water. 

     Karma goes right along with as you sow so shall you reap.  I like to believe that in most cases karma extracts it revenge and pays its rewards in an individual’s lifetime.  This does not always appear to be the case.  I hope, in instances like these, that this is the point where karma and the guiding force work together and supply the needed remedy in whatever the hell happens after this life.  Luck also interacts with and effects karma and you cannot control it.  In my own experiences with karma I was often unaware I was being rewarded or punished for some previous action; I would just blindly go from one course of action to the next.  In learning about karma, I became aware of how ones actions effectively affect future options.  The knowledge did not change me though; instead it just gave me a name for the good or bad.  I am at the point where I am sick and tired of being at the mercy of karma, I want to be in control of it, and I want to make karma my bitch. Taking control of karma begins with controlling ones thoughts.

     Thoughts can be wonderful, creative and beautiful or they can be dark, destructive and ugly.  Finding flaws in others is simple; instead spend time finding good qualities in others.  I admit it is much more difficult than finding faults, which makes it that much more rewarding.  This is something I have yet to master, for me this is the beginning step in controlling my thoughts.  Finding others wrongs is focusing on the negative, looking for good qualities is positive.  Think of a really bad day that you might have recently had… days like that usually snowball, from one little thing and get progressively worse during the course of the day, why?  When things have a negative impact on us as individuals, it stirs up negative thoughts and emotions and these are what we display to others and what is their response? Negative- like attracts like.  Imagine that first sunny, warm spring morning, driving to work with the window down, sun beating on you, you can tell this is going to be a great day, why? Because the day starts off positive and you reflect that and positive is reflected back to you.  The power of thought should not be discounted and in most cases possessing positive thoughts will lead to positive results.

     Family, love and learning… these should not even need an explanation and yet sadly, these three things have been pushed back in matter of importance to too many.  We want the most; the newest, the most expensive, the shiniest, the prettiest and we want it NOW!  Family, love and learning all require time, a lot of time.  Time devoted to them daily and who has any extra time to spend?  Family requires the most time, which is why more than half of all marriages end in divorce, people just don’t want to put in the time and effort required to make a relationship work.  Believe me, my wife and I could have given up before we ever got started, but we didn’t.  We stuck it out, put in the time and we are both in the best relationships of our lives and it has only gotten better.  The more time we put in the more rewarding the relationship is.  Family extends beyond the immediate, my parents, my sister, my grandparents, an aunt and some cousins all have been actors on the stage of my life.  It is their love that has carried me when I was unable to care for myself and I believe I have been able to help them when they needed assistance.  Being able to be loving towards another should always help that individual, they may not want that love at the time, but that is often when they need it the most. 

     Learning gets a separate paragraph, because to me it is the most important.  When you’re young love and family are the ways of life.  As you enter into the teenage years life becomes about love of self, the ego is indeed I.  As we grow into maturity most people never lose their obsession with their selves, basically becoming selfish adults.  I know through my mid-twenties into my early thirties I was a very selfish person and this is why learning is so important to me.  It’s not that I didn’t value love or that my family become unimportant to me, just I came first.  Now I am trying to put myself behind those that I love and value.  I understand having personal goals is important, but you should not sacrifice the love and relationships of those that support you.  I have learned from books, television and computer/internet, but I find the best learning comes from experiencing life and by being aware of its lessons.  Learning has shown me that which is most important in my life; family and love.  All other things fall into place behind those and my life is better for it.

The guiding force in life leads us to better opportunities, if we don’t resist it.  You should not be at the mercy of karma, by doing good and attempting to control your thoughts, you improve the chances of encountering good karma.  Luck just is; some are lucky some unlucky, never rely on luck- good or bad.  By being positive and looking for good qualities in people and situations, we reflect a positive outlook and draw back to us positive views; like attracts like.  Family, love and learning are the three most important things in my life, what are the most important things in your life?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

